Fit

Reading compact-drill dimensions

“Compact” is not a standard clearance measurement. Manufacturers may describe overall length, tool-head length, height, bare-tool weight or another dimension. Read the label attached to each number before comparing models.

Cycle 117 current result: Requiring an included battery and a maker-stated head length of 6 in or less returns nine current-reference configurations. The GSR12V-300HXB22 kit joins the eight prior matches because its exact page states a 5-in head and lists two 2.0Ah packs plus a charger; its 1/4-in hex holder is not a half-inch chuck. HXN is the bare-tool sibling and belongs to the separate tool-only branch. GXL18V-28B22 has a 5.7-in GSR drill head, while GSB18V-65B12's 6.9-in figure is overall product length, not a head measurement. These head values do not establish full working clearance. Compare HXB22, GXL18V-28B22 or GSB18V-65B12 and apply both same-condition requirements.

With earlier=no, an included battery plus a documented head of 6 in or less returns nine current-reference configurations. The HXB22 kit joins because its HX body has a stated 5-in head; GXL18V-28B22 is another match with its 5.7-in-head GSR drill and two listed 2Ah packs. The 1/4-in HX hex interface passes the head-length question but not a 1/2-in chuck requirement. Compare HXB22, GXL18V-28B22 or GSR18V-52B12, then keep all three choices in the finder.

With earlier=yes, nine current-reference configurations still meet the included-battery and documented-head ≤6-in conditions; enabling earlier items adds no earlier package to this subset. The HXB22 kit joins because it lists two 2.0Ah packs and a charger and states a 5-in head. Its 1/4-in hex holder is not a conventional 1/2-in chuck. Read HXB22, GXL18V-28B22 or GSR18V-52B22, then apply all three same-condition choices.

With a strict tool-only requirement and a documented head of 6 in or less, four current-reference configurations match: Bosch PS21N at 5.6 in, GSR12V-300N at 6.0 in and GSR12V-300HXN at 5.0 in, plus DEWALT DCD794B at 5.88 in. HXN's short body uses a 1/4-in hex holder and its exact package is battery/charger-free; its HXB22 sibling is the kit and therefore not in this branch. These head numbers do not measure total clearance with a bit, battery and hand. Compare PS21N, GSR12V-300N, HXN or DCD794B, or apply both exact conditions.

Measure the whole working space

At the job, note the wall-to-fastener or wall-to-hole distance, the height and width of the opening, the angle of approach, and room for your hand and wrist. Include the installed bit and chuck in the forward clearance, and the battery in the space below the grip. Allow enough room to hold the tool in line with the fastener and operate its controls safely. A nose dimension cannot capture all of that.

Keep different measurements different

The DCD794B page advertises a 5.88-in tool-head length only and separately lists an assembled length of 6.7 in. The short head may be relevant in tight access, but it does not promise the complete tool-plus-bit setup will fit. Those figures should not be merged or compared with another model's “overall length” unless the measurement methods are alike.

Check weight basis and package

Battery, belt hook and accessories affect carry and reach. A product page may list assembled weight without stating the battery condition in the same field. If the basis is unclear, avoid comparing it with a bare-tool weight from another page. Bring the expected battery and bit into a store fit check only if hands-on access is available; our assessment does not claim such a check occurred.

For a specific recess, make a simple clearance sketch and compare it with the exact manual, manufacturer dimensions and kit configuration. See the DCD794B evidence notes or use the short-head question as an initial filter, not as a guarantee.

Cycle 117 current option answer: The inclusive ≤6.0-in maker-stated tool-head filter returns 13 current-reference configurations. The Bosch GSR12V-300HXB22 kit and GSR12V-300HXN bare tool each state a 5.0-in head. They use a 1/4-in hex holder, not a half-inch drill chuck; the HXB lists two 2.0Ah packs and charger, while HXN is tool-only. The GXL18V-28B22 states a separate 5.7-in GSR drill head; GSB18V-65B12's 6.9-in value is product length, not a head measurement. Compare HXB22, HXN, GXL18V-28B22, GSR18V-52B12 or GSR18V-52B22, then apply the same inclusive short-head choice. A maker-stated head length is not complete working clearance.

Cycle 112 head-length limit: The inclusive, manufacturer-stated tool-head filter returns eight current-reference configurations; GSR18V-975CB25 and GSR18V-1330CB14 are excluded because neither exact product record supplies a separate tool-head measurement. The CB14 page's 8-in figure is overall product length, not head length. Unknown is not an inclusive-boundary pass. Read the CB14 dimension notes or use the same documented-head finder condition.

Cycle 111 dimension boundary: The inclusive, manufacturer-stated tool-head filter returns eight configurations; GSR18V-975CB25 is not among them because Bosch gives no separate head measurement. Its listed 7.6-in figure is product length, not evidence of a shorter head. Read the CB25 assessment or use the same short-head finder choice.

Cycle 108 short-head answer: The inclusive, manufacturer-stated tool-head filter returns eight configurations. Bosch's exact GXL12V-220B22 page gives the included GSR12V-300 a 6.0-in head, exactly at the threshold; that dimension is not clearance for the separate PS42, an installed bit, hand, battery or approach angle. Read the GXL12V-220B22 package assessment or use the same short-head finder choice.

Cycle 106 boundary answer: Seven packages have a manufacturer-stated tool-head length at or below 6 in; the exact GXL12V-310B22 page gives no PS31 head-length figure. Its approximate two-pound wording is weight, not geometry; unknown head length does not pass the essential ≤6-in condition. Read the measurement-limit note in its review or show the same documented-head matches in the finder.

Cycle 105 boundary answer: Seven packages have a maker-stated head length at or below 6 in; CLPK241-120 is not one because its exact kit documentation gives no tool-head length, which is unknown rather than proof it is longer or cannot fit. Read the dimension limitations in its review or show the same documented-head matches in the finder.

Cycle 104 verified result: Seven reviewed configurations have a documented tool-head length of 6 in or less. The PS21 drill/driver included with CLPK27-120 adds one at 5.6 in; that dimension does not describe the separate PS41 or guarantee installed working clearance. Read the CLPK27-120 assessment or show the same documented head-length matches in the finder.

Cycle 102 checked result: Six reviewed packages have a documented tool-head length at or below 6 in; GXL18V-496B22 is not among them because Bosch does not identify its 7.5-in kit-table length as a drill-head measure. Apply the same inclusive, documented-head-length threshold.

If the maker's tool-head length must be 6 in or less

XT281S is not counted as a six-inch-or-less head match: the XFD13 manual's 6-5/8-in value is overall tool length, and I found no supported tool-head measurement. That unknown is not evidence of either a fit or a physical nonfit. See the XT281S dimension notes and apply the same documented-head-length threshold.

The new Makita CX205RB and CX203SYB kits are not counted as six-inch tool-head matches: Makita gives XPH15's 6-1/2-in and XFD15's 5-7/8-in overall lengths, respectively, but neither exact manual or package page states tool-head length. Overall body length and unknown head clearance are not interchangeable; use the documented head measurement only.

Decision: Eight reviewed configurations have a maker-stated tool-head length at or below 6 in: DCD794B and DCD794D1 at 5.88 in; Bosch PS21-2A, PS21N and CLPK27-120 at 5.6 in; and GSR12V-300N, GSR12V-300B22 and the GXL12V-220B22 kit's GSR12V-300 drill at the inclusive 6.0-in limit. The separate PS130-2A kit and PS130N bare tool each state an 8.0-in head and fail this threshold. A listed head length is not the whole tool's working clearance with a bit and battery.

Makita XAD01 and XAD01Z report 2-5/8-in angle-head height and 12-3/8-in overall length, but neither source gives a tool-head length. The ≤6-in filter therefore leaves both unknown rather than treating height or overall length as a pass or as proof of physical failure; check the exact head dimension and working envelope for a tight recess.

The four Makita 17-series assessments do not add a confirmed short-head match. XPH17S1/XPH17Z report 6-3/4 in overall length and XFD17S1/XFD17Z report 6-9/16 in overall length, but none of those values is an exact tool-head measurement; the inclusive ≤6-in filter leaves them unknown rather than treating total length as head length or assuming they exceed the limit.

The Bosch GSB18V-755CN bare tool and GSB18V-755CB25 kit share a 7.6-in manufacturer-stated overall length, but the product pages do not give a separate tool-head measurement. Their head values therefore remain unknown rather than treated as 7.6 in; neither passes the documented ≤6-in filter. The suffixes differ: CB25 includes two 4.0Ah batteries and a charger, while CN is tool-only.

The Bosch GSB18V-755CN bare tool and GSB18V-755CB25 kit share a 7.6-in manufacturer-stated overall length, but the product pages do not give a separate tool-head measurement. Their head values therefore remain unknown rather than treated as 7.6 in; neither passes the documented ≤6-in filter. The two suffixes still differ: CB25 includes two 4.0Ah batteries and a charger, while CN is tool-only.

These are two different purchase packages around the same DCD794 drill: the DCD794B assessment is tool-only and the DCD794D1 assessment details the kit. The DCD793B and DCD793D1 each have a 0.5-in chuck, but their stated 6.38-in tool-head length is over the six-inch limit, so they do not pass this screen. The threshold is a useful first check, but still compare chuck projection, bit length, grip space and approach angle at the actual work location. A missing tool-head value for another model is unknown, not evidence that it physically exceeds six inches.

The Bosch PS21-2A kit and bare-tool PS21N each have an exact-page 5.6-in tool-head figure. PS21-2A's page also gives a distinct 6.5-in generic “Length” field; use the head field for this condition. Both PS21 packages use a quick-change 1/4-in hex holder for hex-shank bits rather than ordinary round shanks in a three-jaw drill chuck, but their kit contents differ: PS21-2A lists two batteries and a charger while PS21N excludes both.

The distinct pistol-grip GSR12V-300N bare-tool package and GSR12V-300B22 kit each have an exact-page 6.0-in head figure, so both meet the inclusive boundary. They share a brushless GSR12V-300 drill/driver with a 3/8-in keyless chuck; N excludes the battery and charger, while B22 lists two 2.0Ah batteries, a charger and bag. This is not the separate FlexiClick GSR12V-300FCB22, whose 4.5-in generic “Length” is not a numerical head measurement.

The Bosch GSR12V-140FCB22 product page lists 5.2 in as “Length,” not tool-head length; its head value remains unknown. The GSR12V-300FCB22 page gives a 4.5-in “Length” field and says the magnetic-bit-holder setup has a very short head, but supplies no numerical tool-head measure. Neither Bosch field establishes whether that package meets the six-inch head condition; unknown head values cannot pass the documented threshold.

The Bosch PS31-2A and bare-tool PS31N are measured negatives: each exact page states a 7-in head length, 1 in beyond the ≤6-in cutoff. These are actual head-length fields, unlike the separate GSR FlexiClick models' ambiguously labelled “Length” data; neither establishes whole-tool working clearance. The GSR12V-300N/B22 have their own explicit 6.0-in head value and do meet this boundary.

None of the six newly reviewed GPH02/GAD01/GAD02 XGT packages joins that shortlist: no exact page or manual supplies a tool-head measurement. GPH02's 6-7/8-in versus 7-1/8-in figures are disputed overall lengths, not a manufacturer-stated head length; GAD01/GAD02 dimensions are overall lengths, likewise not head measures. The inclusive ≤6-in rule keeps the two DCD794 packages, the two PS21 packages and the two GSR12V-300 packages. It does not establish that unmeasured XGT models cannot physically fit, only that the requested dimension is missing.

The hybrid XPT02Z publishes a 6-3/4-in overall length, but that is not a maker-stated tool-head length; its exact head measurement remains unknown and cannot pass the inclusive ≤6-in filter. This does not establish that it physically cannot fit. The Makita LXT families present the same evidence limit. The brushed XFD03Z lists 8-7/8 in as overall length, and no exact page or manual supplies its tool-head length. The brushed XFD10SY kit and XFD10Z tool-only page state 7-1/4 in overall length, but likewise provide no head length. XFD12 pages state 6-3/4 in overall length, XFD14Z states 7 in, XFD15 pages state 5-7/8 in, XFD16T/Z state 6-7/8 in, XPH10 states 7-3/4 in, XPH14 states 7 in, sub-compact XPH15ZB states 6-1/2 in and XPH16 states 6-7/8 in; none is a head measure. Those overall figures cannot substitute for the required dimension; none of the twenty Makita LXT packages joins the documented result. In particular, XFD03Z, the XFD10, XFD14Z, XFD16T/XFD16Z and XPH15ZB assessments keep their overall-length figures—8-7/8, 7-1/4, 7, 6-7/8 and 6-1/2 in—separate from tool-head length; the 6-3/4-in XFD12 overall dimension likewise does not establish that any R, T or Z package is over the six-inch head limit.

The newly reviewed compact brushless XPH12Z does not change that result: Makita gives 7-1/8 in as overall length but provides no tool-head length. That published number is not evidence that the head exceeds six inches; its unknown measurement simply cannot pass this ≤6-in documentation rule. The XFD03Z's 8-7/8-in overall measurement is similarly not evidence that its head is longer than six inches, but the missing head value does not pass the inclusive ≤6-in filter.

The additional XGT models reviewed this cycle do not join the documented short-head result: GFD01D/GFD01Z and GPH01D/GPH01Z have 7-1/8-in overall lengths in their shared manuals, while compact GFD02D/GFD02Z have a 6-1/2-in overall-length entry. None of those numbers is a head measurement. For the GFD02 in particular, being only half an inch longer overall than the requested six-inch boundary does not prove its head exceeds six inches; it remains unknown and cannot satisfy a ≤6-in head requirement.

The Bosch HDH181BL, GSB18V-975CB25 and GSB18V-490B12 also do not enter this six-product documented shortlist. Their exact pages provide overall or generic dimensions but no exact tool-head measurement; an overall Length field cannot establish the ≤6-in head condition. This is missing evidence, not a claim that their heads are physically too long.

Show models with a documented head length of 6 in or less →

Cycle 99 boundary check: XT505's XPH10 evidence gives a 7-3/4-in overall length but no separate tool-head measurement, so it is not verified for the strict six-inch head requirement. This does not establish whether the drill physically clears a particular space. Read the XT505 dimension and weight caveats; use the same short-head choice in the finder.

Makita XGT plus a six-inch-or-less head requirement

Decision: Combining Makita XGT with a required tool-head length of 6 in or less returns no documented match in either current-only or earlier-enabled scope; XGT manuals list overall lengths for these models, not tool-head dimensions.

Current-only decision: With earlier=no, XGT plus a documented tool-head length ≤6 in returns no match because every current XGT head-length value is unknown.

Earlier-enabled decision: With earlier=yes, XGT plus a documented tool-head length ≤6 in still returns no match; the added GFD02 6-1/2-in numbers are overall lengths, not tool-head measurements.

This is a measurement-evidence conflict, not proof that XGT drills physically cannot fit. Current GFD01D and GPH01Z show 7-1/8-in overall length; GFD03, GPH02/03 and GAD01/02 sources also give overall lengths or leave dimensions unreported. Earlier GFD02D/Z list 6-1/2 in overall length and older GFD01Z/GPH01D are 7-1/8 in overall, but none reports the requested head dimension. Unknown tool-head length cannot meet the exact ≤6-in condition. Even a head-length match would not guarantee clearance for a chuck, installed bit, battery, hand or approach angle.

No XGT candidate in this library has a documented tool-head length of 6 in or less; the empty result does not establish that a model cannot physically fit. Check current XGT against the six-inch-head limit; include earlier XGT packages with the same limit.

Battery platform plus a documented short-head limit

Decision: With DEWALT 20V MAX and a manufacturer-stated tool-head length of 6 in or less both essential, this reviewed set returns DCD794B and DCD794D1; each is stated at 5.88 in.

The nearby DCD793B and DCD793D1 are explicitly longer at 6.38 in, so they fail the six-inch threshold despite their 1/2-in chucks. The platform-specific evidence is incomplete for the other families: none of the six reviewed DEWALT 12V MAX packages or four 60V MAX packages has a manufacturer-stated tool-head length in the current fact set. Those empty results mean the requested dimension is unconfirmed here, not that the drills are physically longer or cannot fit. The measured tool-head number also excludes the installed battery, bit and room for a safe grip and approach.

For the positive result, compare the DCD794B tool-only review and DCD794D1 kit review; their shared 5.88-in tool-head figure does not make their package contents interchangeable.

Find documented 20V MAX short-head matches; check the same short-head condition on 12V MAX; check it on FLEXVOLT 60V MAX; check the same head limit on Makita LXT.

Decision: The empty 12V result reflects that the six reviewed 12V configurations have no recorded manufacturer tool-head length; unknown values do not satisfy the ≤6-in rule, but they do not prove any drill physically exceeds six inches.

Decision: The empty 60V result reflects that the four reviewed 60V configurations have no recorded manufacturer tool-head length; unknown values do not satisfy the ≤6-in rule, but they do not prove any drill physically exceeds six inches.

Decision: Requiring Makita 18V LXT and a maker-stated tool-head length of 6 in or less returns no documented configuration: XFD03's 8-7/8-in, XFD10's 7-1/4-in, XFD12's 6-3/4-in, XFD14's 7-in, XFD15's 5-7/8-in, XFD16's 6-7/8-in, XPH10's 7-3/4-in, XPH14's 7-in, XPH15's 6-1/2-in and XPH16's 6-7/8-in figures are overall lengths, not head measurements.

The tool-only XFD03Z joins the LXT review set but does not fill the missing dimension: its page/manual gives 8-7/8 in overall length and no tool-head measurement. The XFD10SY kit and XFD10Z tool-only package, XFD12R/XFD12T/XFD12Z, XFD14Z, XFD15SY1B/XFD15ZB, XFD16T/XFD16Z, XPH10R/XPH10Z, XPH14T/XPH14Z, tool-only XPH15ZB and XPH16T/XPH16Z package differences do not fill the missing dimension. XFD03's 8-7/8-in, XFD10's 7-1/4-in, XFD16's 6-7/8-in and XPH15ZB's 6-1/2-in overall figures are not exact head-length measurements; unknown head length cannot pass the filter and does not prove the tool physically cannot fit. Do not infer a short head from the compact label or overall body length; the empty result means this library lacks the required LXT measurement, not that these tools physically cannot fit.

Cycle 99 interaction update: No reviewed Makita LXT configuration passes the six-inch-or-less head filter; XT505's 7-3/4-in XPH10 overall length is not a separate head measurement, so it remains unverified rather than claimed to be physically too long. Check its dimensions and limits; combine LXT and the same six-inch limit in the finder.

Cycle 117 Bosch platform/head decision: Bosch 12V Max plus the maker-stated head limit of ≤6.0 in returns eight configurations among 22 platform matches; both HXB22 and HXN join at a 5.0-in HX head. Their 1/4-in hex interface passes the head-length question but not a half-inch chuck condition. Apply both exact choices at the Bosch platform and short-head finder.

Cycle 108 platform/head answer: Bosch 12V Max plus a documented tool-head length of 6 in or less returns six configurations among 20 platform matches. GXL12V-220B22 joins exactly at 6.0 in; the package photo and dimension do not establish full operating clearance. Read the exact kit assessment or apply both same-condition filters.

Cycle 106 Bosch platform/head interaction: Bosch 12V Max plus a documented tool-head length of 6 in or less still returns five configurations; GXL12V-310B22 is not one because its exact page gives no PS31 head measurement, and the approximate two-pound description is weight, not length. Read the dimension caveat in its assessment or apply the same platform and head conditions.

Cycle 105 interaction answer: Bosch 12V Max plus a documented tool-head length of 6 in or less returns five configurations among 18 platform matches; CLPK241-120 is not among them because the exact kit page supplies no PS130 head-length value, so it is unknown rather than a physical fit failure. Read the dimension note in its assessment or use both same-condition choices in the finder.

Cycle 104 interaction update: Bosch 12V Max plus a documented tool-head length of 6 in or less returns five configurations. CLPK27-120 joins because the same PS21 body page states a 5.6-in head; it does not give the separate PS41's length or prove full working clearance. Read the kit assessment or apply both requirements in the finder.

Bosch 12V Max and a required six-inch tool head

Cycle 117 decision: Bosch 12V Max plus a documented tool-head length of 6 in or less returns eight configurations among 22 reviewed platform configurations: PS21-2A, PS21N, CLPK27-120, GSR12V-300B22, GSR12V-300N, GXL12V-220B22, HXB22 and HXN. The two HX versions each state a 5.0-in head and use a 1/4-in hex holder; HXB22 includes two listed 2.0Ah packs and charger, while HXN is bare tool. The PS21 bodies and CLPK27's included PS21 state 5.6 in; the GSR12V-300 bodies in the B22 kit, bare-tool N and GXL12V-220B22 package state 6.0 in. Head length is not installed working clearance.

The GSR12V-140FCB22 product page lists 5.2 in under “Length,” and GSR12V-300FCB22 lists 4.5 in under “Length”; neither label identifies a tool-head measurement. The 300FC page's qualitative “very short head length” phrase adds no numeric value. The PS11 pages also do not supply the required head dimension. These five ambiguous or missing entries are not evidence for the ≤6-in head threshold, and an unknown value is not a pass. The PS31N and PS31-2A pages explicitly state 7-in heads; both GSB12V-300 packages state 6.7 in; and the distinct PS130N and PS130-2A share an 8.0-in head measurement. All six stated Bosch values exceed the cutoff. The PS21-2A and PS21N pages each identify a 5.6-in tool-head length and a 1/4-in hex holder rather than a standard drill chuck. The GSR12V-300N and GSR12V-300B22 pages state 6.0 in and a 3/8-in chuck; N excludes batteries/charger while B22 lists two batteries, charger and bag. No stated dimension establishes whole-tool working clearance.

Answer: Of the 22 assessed Bosch 12V configurations, eight document a head at or under the inclusive 6-in limit: PS21-2A, PS21N, CLPK27-120, GSR12V-300B22, GSR12V-300N, GXL12V-220B22, HXB22 and HXN. The HX versions are 5.0-in head, 1/4-in hex bodies; that does not make them 1/2-in chuck matches. The GXL kit's 6.0-in value belongs to its included GSR drill; PS42 is a separate impact driver. Unknown head fields remain unknown and an unreported value does not prove a physical non-fit.

Read PS21-2A, PS21N, GSR12V-300B22, GSR12V-300N, HXB22 and HXN; Check Bosch 12V Max against the same six-inch tool-head requirement.

Cycle 117 platform/head/lifecycle decision: With Bosch 12V Max and a ≤6.0-in documented tool head, earlier=no returns the same eight current-reference configurations as earlier=yes; no earlier Bosch item joins. HXB22 is the included-battery HX kit and HXN the tool-only sibling, each with a 5.0-in stated head. Use the exact same answers in the earlier=no finder or the earlier=yes finder.

Cycle 108 lifecycle/head interaction: With Bosch 12V Max selected, earlier=no and earlier=yes each return six configurations with maker-stated heads ≤6 in. GXL12V-220B22 is a positive at exactly 6.0 in; GXL12V-310B22 remains outside both subsets because its PS31 head length is not specified, and approximately two pounds is not a dimensional substitute. Read the GXL12V-220B22 assessment or apply the same current-only or earlier-enabled conditions.

Cycle 104 interaction update: Bosch 12V Max and the documented ≤6-in tool-head condition return the same five configurations under earlier=no and earlier=yes. CLPK27-120 is a current-reference kit whose PS21 head is 5.6 in; the number does not include bit, battery, hand or approach clearance. Read the assessment, keep the current-only scope or include earlier packages.

Bosch 12V Max, short head and the earlier-package switch

Current-only decision: With earlier=no, Bosch 12V Max and a documented head length of 6 in or less return six matches: PS21N, PS21-2A, CLPK27-120, GSR12V-300N, GSR12V-300B22 and GXL12V-220B22.

Earlier-enabled decision: With earlier=yes, the same Bosch 12V Max plus documented ≤6-in tool-head condition returns those same six current-reference models: PS21N, PS21-2A, CLPK27-120, GSR12V-300N, GSR12V-300B22 and GXL12V-220B22. No earlier Bosch 12V model joins that result. PS130N and PS130-2A are both 8.0 in at the head and fail either branch.

The PS21 packages each state a 5.6-in tool-head length and use a 1/4-in hex holder: PS21N lists the bare tool and two short bits with battery and charger sold separately, while PS21-2A is a kit that lists batteries and a charger. The GSR12V-300 packages each state a 6.0-in head and use a conventional 3/8-in keyless chuck: GSR12V-300N is bare-tool, and GSR12V-300B22 lists two batteries, charger and bag. A head dimension is not whole-tool clearance with the battery, bit, hand and approach angle.

The PS21 packages each state a 5.6-in tool-head length and use a 1/4-in hex holder: PS21N lists the bare tool and two short bits with battery and charger sold separately, while PS21-2A is a kit that lists batteries and a charger. GSR12V-300N, GSR12V-300B22 and the GXL12V-220B22 kit's included GSR drill each state a 6.0-in head and use a conventional 3/8-in keyless chuck. The kit's written Includes list names two 2.0Ah batteries and an unnamed charger; its PS42 is a separate impact driver, not part of the head measurement. A head dimension is not whole-tool clearance with the battery, bit, hand and approach angle.

Compare the PS21N, PS21-2A, CLPK27-120, GSR12V-300N, GSR12V-300B22 and GXL12V-220B22 assessments; apply the same Bosch, current-reference and short-head requirements or include earlier packages with those same requirements.

Cycle 117 package/head interaction: Bosch 12V Max plus an included battery and a documented head ≤6 in returns five kits; HXB22 joins with its two listed 2.0Ah packs and 5.0-in HX head. The tool-only branch returns three: PS21N, GSR12V-300N and HXN at 5.0 in. HXB22 fails the strict bare-tool package choice; HXN fails included-battery choice. Apply the same conditions in the included-battery finder or tool-only finder.

Cycle 108 package/head interaction: Bosch 12V Max, an included battery and a documented head of 6 in or less return four current-reference kits: PS21-2A, GSR12V-300B22, CLPK27-120 and GXL12V-220B22. The last is exactly at 6.0 in and lists two 2.0Ah packs; its written kit list does not name battery or charger models. Read the GXL12V-220B22 assessment or apply all three same-condition choices.

Cycle 106 package/head interaction: GXL12V-310B22 lists two 2.0Ah batteries but does not pass Bosch 12V Max plus an included battery plus the ≤6-in head condition: no PS31 head measurement is published, and the approximate two-pound wording is weight. Read the exact package review or apply all three same-condition choices.

Cycle 105 interaction answer: With Bosch 12V Max, an included battery required and a documented head length ≤6 in, three packages match; CLPK241-120 is excluded because its exact package evidence has no head-length value, and its two BAT414 packs and BC330 charger do not resolve that fit uncertainty. Read the CLPK241-120 review or apply the same three requirements in the finder.

Cycle 104 interaction update: Bosch 12V Max, an included battery and a documented head of 6 in or less return three current-reference kits: PS21-2A, GSR12V-300B22 and CLPK27-120. The CLPK27-120 list names two BAT414 packs; its PS21 head is 5.6 in, but the separate PS41 length is not stated. Read the exact kit assessment or apply all three requirements in the finder.

Bosch short-head choices split by the exact box contents

Decision: Bosch 12V Max, an included battery and a documented head of 6 in or less return four current-reference kits: PS21-2A, GSR12V-300B22, CLPK27-120 and GXL12V-220B22. The GXL kit's included GSR drill is exactly 6.0 in at the inclusive boundary and has a 3/8-in chuck; the exact package lists two 2.0Ah batteries and a model-unspecified charger. The PS130-2A is also a current 12V kit but its 8.0-in head excludes it.

Decision: Bosch 12V Max, tool-only packaging and a documented head of 6 in or less return PS21N and GSR12V-300N. Both are current-reference bare tools; PS21N states a 5.6-in head and 1/4-in hex holder, while GSR12V-300N states a 6.0-in head and 3/8-in chuck. The PS130N is tool-only but its 8.0-in head excludes it.

The two package branches do not turn the head dimension into total installed clearance. Check space for the battery (if included), bit, hand and approach angle, and confirm the exact box: GSR12V-300N excludes battery and charger, while GSR12V-300B22 lists two 2.0Ah batteries, charger and bag.

Read PS21-2A, GSR12V-300B22, PS21N and GSR12V-300N; apply Bosch, battery-included and short-head choices or apply Bosch, tool-only and short-head choices together.

Requiring an included battery and documented head of 6 in or less returns seven current-reference configurations; GSR18V-52B12 lists one 2Ah pack and GSR18V-52B22 lists two, both with a maker-stated 5.7-in head. Their pack and charger models are not specified, and a short head is not total installed clearance. Compare GSR18V-52B12, GSR18V-52B22, or apply the same package and head conditions.

Cycle 111 package/head interaction: GSR18V-975CB25 lists two batteries, but it is excluded from an included-battery plus documented six-inch-or-less head combination because 7.6 in is product length and no separate head measurement is stated. Read the CB25 assessment or apply both same-condition choices.

Cycle 111 bare-tool/head boundary: GSR18V-975CB25 is not a tool-only or documented short-head match: its exact kit lists batteries and Bosch does not state a separate tool-head length. Read the CB25 assessment or apply both same-condition finder choices.

Cycle 108 included-battery/head interaction: Across this review library, an included battery plus a documented head of 6 in or less returns five packages: DCD794D1, Bosch PS21-2A, GSR12V-300B22, CLPK27-120 and GXL12V-220B22. The GXL kit's included GSR drill is exactly 6.0 in; the separate PS42 is not part of that measurement. Read the package assessment or use the same two-condition finder.

Cycle 107 interaction check: The five Cycle 107 GXL kits fail both strict tool-only and documented ≤6-in head conditions: each lists batteries and each drill head length is unstated. GXL18V-233B25 GXL18V-227B25 GXL18V-260B26 GXL18V-497B23 GXL18V-240B22 Use this same-condition finder.

Cycle 107 interaction check: The five Cycle 107 GXL kits include batteries but have no stated drill-head length, so none qualifies for documented six-inch-or-less clearance. GXL18V-233B25 GXL18V-227B25 GXL18V-260B26 GXL18V-497B23 GXL18V-240B22 Use this same-condition finder.

Cycle 104 interaction update: Across reviewed models, an included battery and documented tool head of 6 in or less now return four configurations, including CLPK27-120's PS21 drill/driver at 5.6 in. The separate PS41 is not included in that head measurement. Read the CLPK27-120 assessment or apply the same package and head conditions in the finder.

A short head does not tell you what is in the kit

Decision: Within the documented 6-in-or-less head shortlist, requiring an included battery selects DCD794D1, Bosch PS21-2A and GSR12V-300B22. DCD794D1 shares the DCD794's 5.88-in head with tool-only DCD794B; PS21-2A has a 5.6-in head and GSR12V-300B22 reaches the inclusive 6.0-in limit.

The DCD794D1 package lists one DCB203 2.0-Ah battery and DCB107 charger, while the DCD794B is a bare tool. Both use the same published head length and 1/2-in chuck; the 6.38-in DCD793D1 kit does include a battery but misses the length threshold. The Bosch PS21-2A is another included-battery short-head match: its exact Includes list says two 2.0Ah batteries and charger, while the page gives a 5.6-in head and separately a 6.5-in Length. It uses a quick-change 1/4-in hex holder. The GSR12V-300B22 is the third kit match; Bosch states a 6.0-in head and lists two batteries, charger and bag. It uses a 3/8-in chuck, unlike PS21-2A's hex holder. The battery-included PS31-2A and tool-only PS31N both have stated 7-in heads and miss the short-head limit; PS31-2A also cannot meet the separate tool-only branch because its box lists two batteries. The tool-only XFD03Z is excluded from both package-specific short-head results: its 13-mm chuck is on the 0.5-in boundary and the exact package excludes battery/charger, but the 8-7/8-in figure is overall length and its tool-head length is unknown. Makita's battery-included XFD10SY and tool-only XFD10Z both have a 1/2-in chuck and 7-1/4-in overall length, but no published tool-head length, so neither passes either package-specific short-head test. The Makita XFD12R/XFD12T kits, XFD15SY1B and XPH10R are battery-included 1/2-in packages, but their pages provide only overall lengths (6-3/4 in, 5-7/8 in and 7-3/4 in, respectively), not head length. The newer battery-included XFD16T kit lists two BL1850B 5.0Ah batteries and a DC18RC charger, but its 6-7/8-in figure is overall length and no tool-head value is published. XPH15ZB is a tool-only, not battery-included, 1/2-in hammer drill/driver and its 6-1/2-in dimension is overall length; its head field remains unknown. Choose by what you own and verify the exact suffix/pack; even a stated tool-head number is not clearance for the chuck, bit, hand or battery.

Review the DCD794D1 kit; find packages with both an included battery and a documented short head.

Decision: Within the same documented short-head shortlist, requiring tool-only packaging selects DCD794B, Bosch PS21N and GSR12V-300N; DCD794D1, PS21-2A and GSR12V-300B22 have qualifying heads but are battery-included kits.

The Bosch PS130-2A and PS130N illustrate why package status alone is insufficient: -2A is a battery-included hammer-drill kit and N is tool-only, but the shared PS130 body has an 8.0-in stated head, so neither enters its respective ≤6-in result.

The DCD794B has no battery or charger in its package, so an existing pack must still be checked against the exact DEWALT compatibility instructions. The Bosch tool-only PS31N also fails this branch with an explicitly stated 7-in head, not a short-head match. The PS21-2A is a short-head positive but is excluded from this tool-only branch because its written kit list includes two batteries and a charger. The Makita tool-only XFD03Z does not pass either: it is tool-only, but 8-7/8 in is its overall length and the tool-head value is unknown. The tool-only XFD10Z, XFD12Z, XFD14Z, XFD15ZB, XFD16Z, XPH10Z and XPH15ZB have cited overall lengths—7-1/4 in, 6-3/4 in, 7 in, 5-7/8 in, 6-7/8 in, 7-3/4 in and 6-1/2 in—not tool-head measures. None is a documented short-head match. Neither the DCD794's 5.88-in tool-head figure nor the filter states total installed clearance.

The XPH12Z similarly has a 1/2-in chuck and tool-only package, but its 7-1/8-in overall length is not the missing tool-head measurement. An unknown head dimension does not satisfy the short-head condition.

The PS21N and GSR12V-300N are the Bosch tool-only short-head matches: PS21N has a 5.6-in head and 1/4-in hex holder, while GSR12V-300N has a 6.0-in head and 3/8-in chuck; both sell without battery and charger. Compare them with the battery-included PS21-2A and GSR12V-300B22 to distinguish the exact package contents.

Review the DCD794B bare tool; find tool-only packages with the same documented head limit.

Cycle 99 interaction update: A battery-included package with a documented head of six inches or less returns three configurations; XT505 is excluded because its 7-3/4-in XPH10 number is overall length and no separate head dimension is stated. Read the exact kit's clearance note; apply the same battery and head requirements.

With earlier=no, an included battery and a documented head of 6 in or less return seven current-reference configurations; GSR18V-52B12 lists one 2Ah pack and GSR18V-52B22 lists two, both at a stated 5.7-in head. Compare GSR18V-52B12, GSR18V-52B22, and carry the same three choices to the finder. These Bosch configurations remain current-reference; the page’s generic 5.9-in length is a separate field.

Cycle 111 current-only package/head interaction: With earlier=no, GSR18V-975CB25 remains a two-battery kit but is excluded from the included-battery plus documented six-inch-or-less head result because its separate head length is unstated. Read the CB25 assessment or apply all three same-condition choices.

Cycle 108 current-only package/head interaction: With earlier=no, a battery-included package and a documented head ≤6 in return five configurations; GXL12V-220B22 is current-reference and exactly 6.0 in. Read its kit assessment or apply the same three requirements.

Cycle 107 interaction check: Under earlier=no, all five Cycle 107 packages are current-reference and include batteries, but their unstated head lengths do not satisfy the documented ≤6-in condition. GXL18V-233B25 GXL18V-227B25 GXL18V-260B26 GXL18V-497B23 GXL18V-240B22 Use this same-condition finder.

Cycle 104 interaction update: With earlier=no, an included battery and documented head length of 6 in or less return four current-reference packages. CLPK27-120 joins with two listed BAT414 packs and a 5.6-in PS21 head. Read the kit assessment or apply these three conditions in the finder.

Battery-included packages with a documented short head, current set

Decision: With earlier=no, an included battery and a documented tool head of 6 in or less, DCD794D1, Bosch PS21-2A and GSR12V-300B22 are established. PS21-2A states a 5.6-in head and GSR12V-300B22 states 6.0 in at the inclusive limit; the PS130-2A kit states an 8.0-in head and fails. CT232RX's FD09 gives a 7-in overall length, not the required head measurement; unknown is not a pass.

The FD09-family manual reports overall length and battery-included weight, but no tool-head dimension. This applies to FD09R1, the current CT232 combo's drill and the earlier CT232RX combo; the 7-in whole-tool figure cannot satisfy the explicit ≤6-in head boundary. The DCD794D1 assessment documents the 5.88-in head measurement and the battery-included package, while clearance for chuck, bit, hand and workpiece still needs checking.

The Bosch PS21-2A is one current battery-included short-head match; the separate GSR12V-300B22 is another at the inclusive 6-in boundary. The PS31-2A also includes batteries but is excluded because its explicitly stated 7-in tool head exceeds the limit.

apply current-only, battery-included and documented-short-head choices together.

With earlier=yes, the same seven current-reference packages meet included-battery and documented-head ≤6-in conditions; GSR18V-52B12 and B22 remain current-reference, with one versus two listed 2Ah packs. The earlier selection adds no earlier package to this short-head subset. Compare GSR18V-52B12, GSR18V-52B22, and use the same three finder choices.

Cycle 111 earlier-enabled package/head interaction: With earlier=yes, GSR18V-975CB25 remains current-reference but is excluded from the included-battery plus documented six-inch-or-less head result because its separate head length is unstated. Read the CB25 assessment or apply all three same-condition choices.

Cycle 108 earlier-enabled package/head interaction: With earlier=yes, an included battery and a documented head ≤6 in still return five configurations; the same five are current-reference, so no earlier package joins this set. GXL12V-220B22 remains one of the matches at exactly 6.0 in. Read the kit assessment or apply the same three requirements.

Cycle 107 interaction check: With earlier=yes, the same five current-reference Bosch kits still fail the documented head-length boundary; allowing older products does not turn unknown into a measurement. GXL18V-233B25 GXL18V-227B25 GXL18V-260B26 GXL18V-497B23 GXL18V-240B22 Use this same-condition finder.

Cycle 104 interaction update: With earlier=yes, an included battery and documented head length of 6 in or less return four configurations, including current-reference CLPK27-120; its PS21 head is 5.6 in and the separate PS41 has no cited head dimension. Read the assessment or apply these three conditions in the finder.

Battery-included packages with a documented short head, earlier set enabled

Decision: With earlier=yes, an included battery and a documented tool head of 6 in or less, DCD794D1, Bosch PS21-2A and GSR12V-300B22 remain the three established matches. PS21-2A states 5.6 in and GSR12V-300B22 states 6.0 in at the inclusive limit; PS130-2A is an included-battery Bosch kit but states an 8.0-in head. CT232RX gives the FD09 drill's 7-in overall length, not the required head measurement; unknown is not a pass.

The CT232RX review documents a discontinued earlier package, not a missing head measurement. Its FD09 drill's 7-in number is overall length; neither it nor the similar FD09R1 and CT232 package can be counted as ≤6-in head from that value. Unknown length remains unknown. A short-head specification also cannot guarantee access with a bit, hand or approach angle installed.

The current-reference Bosch PS21-2A and GSR12V-300B22 remain short-head positives under the earlier-enabled setting; the distinct PS31-2A is the negative with a 7-in head despite its battery kit.

Read the DCD794D1, PS21-2A and GSR12V-300B22 assessments for their documented short-head/included-battery packages and the CT232RX assessment for the earlier package boundary; apply the same three conditions in the finder.

Bring the requirements together

Build my shortlist →