Model assessment · Makita

Makita CT232RX 12V max CXT 2-Piece Combo Kit (2.0Ah, Earlier Package) review

Makita marks this earlier CT232RX package discontinued. Its flyer lists an FD09Z 3/8-in drill, DT03Z impact driver, two BL1021B 2.0Ah batteries, DC10WD charger and case.

Sources checked 2026-10-30 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model: use this assessment to identify an existing product or check a specific offer. Match the exact suffix, instructions and seller terms.

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Makita CT232RX CXT kit with a 3/8-in drill, impact driver, charger, two 2.0Ah batteries and silver case.
Official CT232RX earlier-kit image; Makita marks this package discontinued. Makita manufacturer product image
A useful fit for

A specifically identified earlier combo to compare only when the buyer elects to include earlier configurations and verifies a particular offer’s contents and condition.

The main tradeoff

Makita marks CT232RX discontinued; no present stock or offer condition is established. Its FD09 drill has no documented hammer mode, and the 3/8-in chuck is below 1/2 in.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the CT232RX package include a battery?

The CT232RX flyer lists two BL1021B 2.0Ah packs and a DC10WD charger; the discontinued page and flyer identify the separate earlier package. Verify the actual offer.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the CT232RX support hammer drilling?

No hammer-drilling mode is documented in the linked FD09/FD10 manual. The tool is described for rotation drilling and screwdriving, so it does not satisfy an essential hammer-mode requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the CT232RX accept a 1/2-in bit shank?

The FD09Z drill half has a 3/8-in chuck (0.375 in), below the 0.5-in threshold; the impact driver is not a drill chuck.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the CT232RX meet the 6-in tool-head condition?

The FD09 drill is listed at 7 in overall; no tool-head length is provided, so the 6-in head threshold is not documented.

Explore this need in the finder →
Should the CT232RX be compared as an earlier package?

Makita marks the exact CT232RX page discontinued. It is included only when earlier packages are requested; this does not confirm availability or condition of any offer.

Explore this need in the finder →

Makita's CT232RX is a 12V max CXT two-piece combo kit, but it should be treated as an earlier configuration, not blended with the current CT232 package. Makita's exact U.S. page explicitly marks CT232RX “DISCONTINUED.” Its linked product flyer describes an FD09Z 3/8-in driver-drill, a DT03Z 1/4-in impact driver, two BL1021B 2.0Ah batteries, a DC10WD charger and a tool case. This documents what the old package was; it does not show that a seller still has it, or that a specific listing includes all of those items.

The drill and the impact driver have different roles

In both CT232RX and the current CT232, the drill half is the FD09Z. Makita's FD09/FD10 manual identifies a two-speed conventional driver-drill with rotation drilling, screwdriving, a 21-position clutch and a 3/8-in chuck. Published speed ranges are 0–450 and 0–1,700 rpm; the stated maximum torque is 250 in-lb. The manual separately lists 3/8-in capacity in steel and 13/16-in in wood. These are the manufacturer's limits, not independent tests or a promise of a hole size for every bit, material and setup. The chuck opening is the bit-shank capacity—not a substitute for checking material-specific capacity or safety instructions.

The second machine, DT03Z, is an impact driver for driving fasteners with compatible 1/4-in hex accessories. Its own impact and torque figures in the flyer belong to that tool. They do not change the drill's capacity or give the combo hammer-drilling mode. The FD09 instructions document drilling and screwdriving, not hammer drilling. If your planned work requires a hammer-drill mechanism, neither the two-machine package nor a published torque number is a substitute for it.

Do not transfer current-kit contents

The earlier package's two BL1021B batteries and case are not the current CT232's box. The current CT232 page instead lists two 1.5Ah CXT batteries whose model numbers are not stated in its written Includes list and a 14-in contractor bag. Both list a DC10WD charger and the same machine pair, but the battery specification and storage package differ. Confirm the exact printed CT232RX suffix and package list on any used or remaining-stock offer; treat seller condition and completeness as unknown until verified.

The FD09/FD10 manual lists applicable FD09/FD10 battery cartridges BL1016, BL1021B and BL1041B, plus DC10SB, DC10WD and DC18RE chargers. That family list is useful for checking compatibility, not proof that any battery encountered in an older kit is safe or serviceable today. Inspect the actual pack labels and condition and follow current safety instructions. No battery-life or runtime test is claimed here.

Size and performance claims need context

The FD09 drill's stated 7-in dimension is overall length. Makita does not state the tool-head length needed for the short-head comparison, so this package cannot be labeled a documented short-head match from that number. The sources also provide no bare-tool weight; the 2.4-lb figure is with battery, while the family manual gives a battery-dependent 2.4–2.7-lb range. The kit itself includes two machines and a case, so a single drill dimension is not a package storage measurement.

The FD09R1 kit is another related comparison, but it is a distinct standalone kit with two 2.0Ah packs, DC10WD and case around an FD09 drill; CT232RX includes FD09Z as one half of the combo with the impact driver. Similarity in the base drill does not make the SKUs or contents interchangeable. CT232RX merits consideration only if a specific package is verified and an earlier model is acceptable. The discontinued notice, documented 3/8-in interface and known inclusion list can inform that comparison, but not availability, current condition, price or fit for an unexamined job.

The manual lists BL1016, BL1021B and BL1041B cartridges for the FD09/FD10 family and DC10SB, DC10WD and DC18RE chargers. Those compatibility examples are not a battery-health assessment: confirm the markings, physical condition, charger and instructions for the particular offer rather than assuming an old kit's pack is serviceable.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Brushless motorNo
Maximum chuck capacity0.38 in
Maximum no-load speed1700 rpm
Screwdriving clutch settings21
Battery platformMakita 12V max CXT
Exact package typeTwo tool combo kit earlier
Included battery modelBL1021B
Capacity per included battery2 Ah
Included charger modelDC10WD
Kit bag listedNo
Hammer-drilling modeNo
Documented operating modesdrilling / screwdriving / impact_driving
Battery included in this SKUYes
Charger included in this SKUYes
Included accessoryone FD09Z 3/8-in driver-drill / one DT03Z 1/4-in impact driver / two BL1021B 2.0Ah batteries / DC10WD charger / tool case

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare your requirements before choosing

Use the finder to keep the essential job, battery system and exact package separate. The match is a research filter, not proof of fit or a live retailer offer.

In this review