Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does GXL18V-497B23 include hammer-drilling mode?
Yes. Bosch lists the GSB18V-490 hammer drill/driver in the exact kit, and its manual documents a hammer-drilling selector/mode. This is not a guarantee for every masonry bit or material.
Explore this need in the finder →Is this a Bosch 18V battery-platform package with batteries included?
Yes. Bosch lists this kit as an 18V package and the exact Includes list names two batteries (models/capacities are recorded separately above); verify pack labels and compatibility for an existing charger or battery.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the included drill accept a 1/2-in shank?
Yes. The included GSB18V-490 has a manufacturer-documented 1/2-in chuck. This is chuck/shank capacity, not a hole-size or drilling-material rating.
Explore this need in the finder →Is the drill head six inches long or less?
The exact kit page does not state the included drill’s tool-head length, so no six-inch clearance claim is made. Measure the tool, bit, hand and approach allowance for the actual space.
Explore this need in the finder →This package assessment is based on Bosch’s exact U.S. GXL18V-497B23 page and the linked GSB18V-490 instructions. No hands-on use, testing or independent measurement is claimed.
A four-tool kit that includes a conventional hammer drill
GXL18V-497B23 is not just a drill bundle. Bosch’s written list names a GSB18V-490 1/2-inch hammer drill/driver, a GDX18V-1800 two-in-one impact driver/wrench, a CCS180 18V circular saw and a GLI18V-300 articulating worklight. The package also lists one GBA18V40 CORE18V 4Ah battery, one BAT612 2Ah standard-power battery, an 18V charger, a 6-1/2-inch saw blade, a 4x bit holder, two belt clips and a carrying bag. The charger model is not stated. The exact drill/impact pair also appears in the two-tool GXL18V-233B25 and GXL18V-240B22 listings, but neither is this four-tool package.
Drill function and capacity are component-specific
The GSB18V-490 supplies the drilling role: Bosch’s manual documents a 1/2-inch keyless chuck, two speed ranges to 600 and 1,900 rpm in the linked manual, hammer rate up to 22,000 beats per minute and 20 clutch settings. Bosch’s separate GSB18V-490B12 page lists 460/1,800 rpm for the same drill body; no source resolves the mismatch. Bosch’s GXL page claims up to 490 in-lb of torque. The manual lists maximum capacities of 1/2 inch in mild metal, 1-1/2 inches in hard wood, 2 inches in soft wood and 1/2 inch in masonry. These are specific manufacturer limits, not independent performance results or promises for all combinations of bit and material.
The GDX18V-1800 is a different fastening body. Its manual describes a 1/4-inch hex bit interface and 1/2-inch square-drive socket interface; it does not enlarge the drill chuck or provide the GSB’s hammer mode. The CCS180 saw and GLI18V-300 light are additional tools, not drill features. This distinction is useful when comparing a package whose headline says four tools: only one is the drill being screened in a drill finder.
A mixed battery pair and a larger box
The battery list is one named 4Ah pack and one named 2Ah pack, not two matching packs and not a single 6Ah battery. They can be exchanged between compatible Bosch 18V tools as allowed by the current compatibility guidance, but the page does not tell us a task-specific runtime or whether the mix suits a particular workday. The exact tool/charger platform is Bosch 18V / AMPShare; match the stated model codes rather than assuming a pack or charger from another kit.
Bosch’s technical table lists 16.75 lb but does not clarify the basis in the row. It should not be reported as a measured drill-only weight or as a guaranteed ready-to-carry package weight. The table does show a substantial four-tool presentation, which is one reason the buyer should decide whether the saw and light will actually be used. If not, a two-tool package around the same GSB18V-490/GDX18V-1800 pair may avoid buying unneeded equipment; compare exact contents and batteries rather than assuming a lower price or better value.
Handling and dimensional unknowns
The GSB18V-490 manual instructs users to use auxiliary handles, but Bosch’s exact GXL18V-497B23 written list does not name one. Its photograph does not establish inclusion. Check the correct handle and its fit before planning hammer drilling. The product page also does not identify a tool-head length or comparable tool-only weight for the drill. This kit therefore cannot pass a strict six-inch-or-shorter head screen based on the available exact-page evidence. A missing measurement is unknown, not a physical claim that the drill will or will not fit in a particular recess.
When the extras justify comparison
This kit is worth examining when the buyer needs a drill plus the named circular saw and worklight, and expects the impact driver to complement those tools. It is less compelling if the only task is drilling, if a compact-head value is essential, or if a same-capacity battery pair is required. The GXL18V-233B25 packages two 4Ah batteries with the same drill/impact pair; GXL18V-240B22 lists two 2Ah batteries; this GXL18V-497B23 has a 4Ah/2Ah mix plus two extra tools. The GXL18V-260B26 is another distinct two-tool route, pairing a higher-output PROFACTOR hammer drill with an 8Ah and a 4Ah pack.
Verify GXL18V-497B23 / 060166H01T, the named four tools, both battery models, charger, saw blade and handle situation against the carton and seller listing. The Bosch catalogue and technical table do not establish present stock, seller condition, price or the contents of a particular delivered unit.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Brushless motor | Yes |
|---|---|
| Maximum chuck capacity | 0.5 in |
| Screwdriving clutch settings | 20 |
| Battery platform | Bosch 18V / AMPShare |
| Exact package type | Kit |
| Kit bag listed | Yes |
| Hammer-drilling mode | Yes |
| Documented operating modes | Drilling / Screwdriving / Hammer drilling |
| Battery included in this SKU | Yes |
| Charger included in this SKU | Yes |
| Included accessory | GDX18V-1800 impact driver/wrench / CCS180 circular saw / GLI18V-300 worklight / GBA18V40 4Ah battery / BAT612 2Ah battery / one 18V charger (model not stated) / one saw blade / 4x bit holder (Bosch package-list wording) / two belt clips / carrying bag |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
- Bosch GXL18V-497B23 exact U.S. product page
- Bosch GSB18V-490/GSR18V-490 operating and safety manual
- Bosch GDR/GDS/GDX18V-1800 operating and safety manual
- Exact Bosch U.S. kit page image, visually checked
- Bosch U.S. 18V Combo Kits category
- Bosch GSB18V-490B12 exact U.S. kit page, used only for the same GSB18V-490 drill-body specifications
Compare your requirements before choosing
Use the finder to keep the essential job, battery system and exact package separate. The match is a research filter, not proof of fit or a live retailer offer.
