Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does GXL18V-233B25 include hammer-drilling mode?
Yes. Bosch lists the GSB18V-490 hammer drill/driver in the exact kit, and its manual documents a hammer-drilling selector/mode. This is not a guarantee for every masonry bit or material.
Explore this need in the finder →Is this a Bosch 18V battery-platform package with batteries included?
Yes. Bosch lists this kit as an 18V package and the exact Includes list names two batteries (models/capacities are recorded separately above); verify pack labels and compatibility for an existing charger or battery.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the included drill accept a 1/2-in shank?
Yes. The included GSB18V-490 has a manufacturer-documented 1/2-in chuck. This is chuck/shank capacity, not a hole-size or drilling-material rating.
Explore this need in the finder →Is the drill head six inches long or less?
The exact kit page does not state the included drill’s tool-head length, so no six-inch clearance claim is made. Measure the tool, bit, hand and approach allowance for the actual space.
Explore this need in the finder →This is a document-based assessment of Bosch’s U.S. product page and linked GSB18V-490 instructions. No hands-on use, test, ownership or measured-performance claim is made.
What the exact GXL18V-233B25 package contains
GXL18V-233B25 is a two-tool, 18V package built around the GSB18V-490 hammer drill/driver and GDX18V-1800 two-in-one impact driver/wrench. Bosch’s written list names two GBA18V40 CORE18V 4Ah batteries, one 18V charger, two belt clips and a carrying bag. The kit page does not identify the charger model. This is a materially different box from the related GXL18V-240B22: that package lists the same drill and impact tool but two standard 2Ah batteries. The GXL18V-497B23 also uses the GSB18V-490 and GDX18V-1800, but adds a circular saw and worklight and has a different, mixed-capacity battery pair.
The drill’s documented range—and its boundaries
The GSB18V-490 is the part of this kit that performs ordinary drilling, screwdriving and hammer drilling. Its linked manual lists a 1/2-inch keyless chuck, two no-load speed ranges up to 600 and 1,900 rpm in the GSB manual, 22,000 beats per minute in hammer mode, and 20 clutch settings. Bosch’s separate GSB18V-490B12 page lists 460/1,800 rpm for the same drill body; these sources do not reconcile the speed figures. Bosch’s product page advertises up to 490 in-lb of torque. That is a manufacturer figure, not a measured result from this review. The manual’s maximum-capacity table names 1/2-inch mild metal, 1-1/2-inch hard wood, 2-inch soft wood and 1/2-inch masonry. Treat those as model-specific manufacturer limits, not promises for every bit, material, operator or duty cycle.
The GDX18V-1800 is a separate fastening tool, not a second drill. Its linked instructions describe a 1/4-inch hex bit holder alongside a 1/2-inch square drive for sockets. That dual interface can reduce tool changes when a job alternates between drilling and fastening, but it cannot make the GSB’s chuck larger or provide its hammer-drill mode. Check the actual bit and socket shanks for each tool instead of treating the kit as one interchangeable drive.
Why the two 4Ah packs matter
The package distinction is its pair of named 4Ah CORE18V packs. Bosch compares each pack’s runtime with an earlier 2Ah battery, but that is the maker’s comparison rather than a job-specific runtime estimate. Battery capacity does not make a bit, material or hole size compatible; it only describes the supplied pack rating. The exact kit page names the packs but calls the charger only an 18V charger, so verify the charger label and current Bosch compatibility guidance if replacing or combining equipment.
Practical fit and purchase checks
This configuration is a plausible shortlist candidate when the buyer wants a Bosch 18V hammer drill with a half-inch chuck, a distinct impact driver/wrench, two 4Ah packs and a charger in the same box. It is not a tool-only offer, and it is not a compact-head recommendation: Bosch does not state a tool-head length for the GSB18V-490 on this kit page, so an essential six-inch clearance condition remains unconfirmed.
There is also an important handling check. The GSB18V-490 instructions say to use auxiliary handles, while the exact kit’s written Includes list does not name one. The product photograph is not enough to establish what a seller’s carton contains. Confirm the appropriate handle and its inclusion before relying on the hammer-drill function, then follow the manual’s fitting and operating instructions. The page does not name the exact charger model either. Match the full GXL18V-233B25 suffix and compare the delivered list rather than transferring details from the similar 240 or 497 kits.
Who should compare another package?
For the same pair of tools with lower-rated included batteries, compare the GXL18V-240B22 and verify its generic battery and charger entries. If the planned work also needs a saw and light, the four-tool GXL18V-497B23 is the relevant Bosch package to inspect, though its listed battery pair is one 4Ah and one 2Ah pack. For a different drill tier, the GXL18V-227B25 substitutes the GSB18V-975C and connected-ready GDX18V-1860C; its connectivity-module listing needs careful checking. Comparing those exact package records is more useful than treating a shared “18V combo” label as proof that contents, drill mechanisms or battery arrangements are interchangeable.
Before purchase, confirm the exact GXL18V-233B25 model code, the two GBA18V40 packs, the charger, the handle question, the desired bit and the intended material. Manufacturer catalogue presence does not establish current retailer stock, seller condition, price or what will arrive.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Brushless motor | Yes |
|---|---|
| Maximum chuck capacity | 0.5 in |
| Screwdriving clutch settings | 20 |
| Battery platform | Bosch 18V / AMPShare |
| Exact package type | Kit |
| Included battery model | GBA18V40 |
| Capacity per included battery | 4 Ah |
| Kit bag listed | Yes |
| Hammer-drilling mode | Yes |
| Documented operating modes | Drilling / Screwdriving / Hammer drilling |
| Battery included in this SKU | Yes |
| Charger included in this SKU | Yes |
| Included accessory | two GBA18V40 CORE18V 4Ah batteries / two belt clips / carrying bag |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
- Bosch GXL18V-233B25 exact U.S. product page
- Bosch GSB18V-490/GSR18V-490 operating and safety manual
- Bosch GDR/GDS/GDX18V-1800 operating and safety manual
- Exact Bosch U.S. kit page image, visually checked
- Bosch U.S. 18V Combo Kits category
- Bosch GSB18V-490B12 exact U.S. kit page, used only for the same GSB18V-490 drill-body specifications
Compare your requirements before choosing
Use the finder to keep the essential job, battery system and exact package separate. The match is a research filter, not proof of fit or a live retailer offer.
