Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does GXL18V-227B25 include hammer-drilling mode?
Yes. Bosch lists the GSB18V-975C hammer drill/driver in the exact kit, and its manual documents a hammer-drilling selector/mode. This is not a guarantee for every masonry bit or material.
Explore this need in the finder →Is this a Bosch 18V battery-platform package with batteries included?
Yes. Bosch lists this kit as an 18V package and the exact Includes list names two batteries (models/capacities are recorded separately above); verify pack labels and compatibility for an existing charger or battery.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the included drill accept a 1/2-in shank?
Yes. The included GSB18V-975C has a manufacturer-documented 1/2-in chuck. This is chuck/shank capacity, not a hole-size or drilling-material rating.
Explore this need in the finder →Is the drill head six inches long or less?
The exact kit page does not state the included drill’s tool-head length, so no six-inch clearance claim is made. Measure the tool, bit, hand and approach allowance for the actual space.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the GXL18V-227B25 written list confirm the GCY42 connectivity module?
Not unambiguously. Bosch’s page highlight says a connectivity module is included and Works With names GCY42, but the exact written Includes list does not identify GCY42. Confirm the actual package if connected/app features are needed.
Explore this need in the finder →This is a source-based review of Bosch’s U.S. kit page and linked component manuals, not a hands-on test. Manufacturer claims are identified as such; no performance is independently measured here.
A stronger hammer-drill pairing, with package questions to verify
GXL18V-227B25 is a two-tool Bosch 18V kit containing a GSB18V-975C hammer drill/driver and a GDX18V-1860C two-in-one impact driver/wrench. The written list names two GBA18V40 CORE18V 4Ah batteries, an 18V charger, a 4x bit holder, two belt clips and a carrying bag. The page’s technical table identifies GAL18V-40 as the charger, although the Includes line uses generic wording. Unlike the entry-level pairing in GXL18V-233B25 and GXL18V-240B22, this package has the GSB18V-975C and GDX18V-1860C; it should not be compared on battery count alone.
What Bosch documents about the GSB18V-975C
The drill has a 1/2-inch chuck, two no-load speed ranges up to 480 and 2,100 rpm, and a hammer action rated at up to 31,500 beats per minute. Bosch’s product description advertises up to 975 in-lb of maximum torque, variable speed, 25 clutch settings and KickBack Control. The directly linked manual lists maximum capacities of 1/2 inch for mild metal, 3-1/4 inches for wood and 5/8 inch for masonry. These are manufacturer specifications, not independent test results or guarantees for an arbitrary bit and workpiece.
The GDX18V-1860C is a separate fastening body with Bosch’s two-in-one setup: a 1/4-inch hex holder for bits and a 1/2-inch square drive for sockets. Its manual describes selectable settings and modes; the exact kit page highlights Auto Stop and Auto Bolt Release. Those features belong to the impact tool, not the drill. The GSB’s 1/2-inch chuck remains the relevant bit-shank limit for drilling, and the impact driver is not a substitute for a drill chuck.
Connected-ready does not settle what is in the box
The GSB18V-975C and GDX18V-1860C are described as connected-ready, and Bosch discusses app-adjustable functions. But the exact GXL18V-227B25 Includes list does not name a GCY42 module, even though a page highlight refers to app use with a connectivity module. The page also lists GCY42 under “Works With,” and the GSB manual describes module installation. If connected adjustment matters, confirm the exact module is actually in the offered package instead of assuming the highlight or tool suffix alone proves it.
The GSB manual also directs users to use auxiliary handles. The GXL18V-227B25 list does not name an auxiliary handle. Its page image depicts a drill with one, but a photo cannot establish box contents. Verify the correct handle and its inclusion before planning hammer drilling. The technical page reports 3.5 lb while the copy says the drill weighs 3.4 lb tool-only; because the basis is not reconciled, this review does not use either figure as a dependable package or bare-tool comparison. Bosch does not state a separate tool-head length here, so an essential six-inch clearance screen remains unknown.
Battery and workflow fit
The package supplies two named 4Ah batteries and a charger. That makes it a battery-included option rather than a tool-only route, while still leaving the buyer responsible for checking compatibility of any batteries or charger already owned. A set of two GBA18V40 packs is a different inclusion from the 8Ah-plus-4Ah combination in the higher-output GXL18V-260B26. Bosch describes the included 4Ah packs relative to an older 2Ah generation; it does not establish how long this kit will run on a specific job.
Who should compare it?
Consider this exact package if a Bosch 18V buyer needs both a 1/2-inch hammer drill and a distinct impact driver/wrench, with two named 4Ah packs in the carton. Compare the GXL18V-260B26 if electronic angle functions, a PROFACTOR GSB18V-1330C drill and its included larger battery arrangement are important. Compare GXL18V-233B25 or GXL18V-240B22 if the GSB18V-490 paired with GDX18V-1800 fits the work; their tool lineup is different. None of these comparisons certifies a particular masonry task, accessory package or seller listing.
Before buying, match GXL18V-227B25 and Bosch order number 06019J0218, check the written item list, verify the charger label, ask about GCY42 and the auxiliary handle if needed, and follow both tool manuals. Bosch’s catalogue page is not evidence of current retailer stock, price, seller condition or delivered contents.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Brushless motor | Yes |
|---|---|
| Maximum chuck capacity | 0.5 in |
| Maximum no-load speed | 2100 rpm |
| Screwdriving clutch settings | 25 |
| Battery platform | Bosch 18V / AMPShare |
| Exact package type | Kit |
| Included battery model | GBA18V40 |
| Capacity per included battery | 4 Ah |
| Kit bag listed | Yes |
| Hammer-drilling mode | Yes |
| Documented operating modes | Drilling / Screwdriving / Hammer drilling |
| Battery included in this SKU | Yes |
| Charger included in this SKU | Yes |
| Included accessory | two GBA18V40 CORE18V 4Ah batteries / 4x bit holder (Bosch package-list wording) / two belt clips / carrying bag |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Compare your requirements before choosing
Use the finder to keep the essential job, battery system and exact package separate. The match is a research filter, not proof of fit or a live retailer offer.
