Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does the XFD15SY1B package include a battery and charger?
Yes. Makita's exact package list names one compact 18V LXT lithium-ion 1.5Ah battery, one DC18SD charger and a tool bag. The page does not name the battery model, so check the delivered label rather than assuming a BL-series suffix.
Explore this need in the finder →Is the XFD15SY1B on the Makita 18V LXT platform?
Yes. The exact US product page identifies it as an 18V LXT driver-drill. If you intend to share an existing battery or charger, confirm the precise pack and charger against the XFD15 manual's approved model list; the platform name alone is not a full compatibility check.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the XFD15SY1B meet a 1/2-in chuck requirement?
Yes. Makita lists a 1/2-in keyless chuck. That describes compatible bit-shank size, not a guarantee of a 1/2-in hole in every material; the manual gives separate capacities by bit type and substrate.
Explore this need in the finder →The XFD15SY1B is the battery-included package in Makita's XFD15 sub-compact brushless driver-drill family. Its exact US product page names the XFD15ZB tool, one compact 18V LXT lithium-ion battery rated at 1.5Ah, a DC18SD charger and a tool bag. That is materially different from the separately listed XFD15ZB tool-only SKU. A package photograph can help identify the arrangement, but use the written Includes list and the model suffix to check what a seller is actually supplying. Makita does not identify the included 1.5Ah battery by model number on this page, so that detail should remain unfilled rather than guessed from the manual's compatible-pack list.
A compact ordinary drill/driver
Makita describes a brushless motor, two mechanical speed ranges, dual work lights, a keyless 1/2-in chuck and 350 in-lb maximum torque. The current exact page and the XFD15 instruction manual list 0–500 rpm in low and 0–1,700 rpm in high. A 2021 Makita launch release lists a different low-speed ceiling, 0–550 rpm, while agreeing on the 1,700-rpm upper range. The accessible current product page and linked manual agree with each other; the historical discrepancy remains unresolved, so these figures should be treated as published specifications rather than independent measurements.
This is a plain driver-drill, not a hammer drill. The manual describes rotation-only drilling and clutch-controlled screwdriving. If hammer-drilling mode is essential for planned masonry work, the XFD15SY1B does not meet that requirement; a masonry bit in an ordinary rotating chuck does not turn it into a hammer drill. For woodworking or metal work, the manual's capacities are more informative than a torque headline: it separates a 1/2-in steel limit from wood limits by bit type, listing a 1-7/16-in auger, 1-3/8-in self-feed bit and 2-in hole saw. Those are maker-stated application limits, not guarantees for every material, bit or duty cycle.
What the compact kit adds—and what remains unknown
The one included battery and a charger make this the more self-contained of the two XFD15 package choices. A current LXT owner may prefer the tool-only version and avoid another battery or charger; a buyer starting without compatible equipment can use the kit's included power components. The listed pack is just 1.5Ah, however, and the page does not state its model number. Amp-hour capacity alone does not predict task runtime, and this single-pack kit should not be described as a two-battery work rotation. The exact page identifies the charger as DC18SD, which is different information from assuming that an older XFD15RB package is the same kit.
That distinction matters because Makita's earlier XFD15RB flyer describes a different two-battery kit with 2.0Ah packs and a DC18RC rapid charger. It names XFD15ZB as the underlying tool, just as the current XFD15SY1B page does, but the RB kit's battery quantity and charger must not be carried across to SY1B. The current kit's listed pack model is not stated. The XFD15 manual supplies a list of compatible battery and charger families, including BL1815N and DC18SD, but that list does not establish that a particular model is the pack in this exact box. If a seller advertises a model number, compare it to the manufacturer package and the item received.
Dimensions and weight are not clearance promises
Makita lists 5-7/8 in overall length and 2.9 lb with a battery. The manual says XFD15 weight can range from 2.9 to 3.5 lb according to battery cartridge and attachments. Neither source supplies a bare-tool weight, and the listed overall length is not called tool-head length. The finder therefore does not treat this as a confirmed six-inch-or-shorter head. For a tight recess, plan room for the bit, the fitted pack, hand position and the angle needed to keep the bit aligned. A short overall tool body is useful context, not proof that the complete setup fits your opening.
How to judge this package
The strongest case for the XFD15SY1B is a compact LXT drilling-and-driving arrangement sold with one battery, a charger and a bag, plus a documented 1/2-in chuck. It can suit routine work where that included power equipment matters and where its ordinary drill/driver modes and specific bit limits match the task. The main compromises are equally clear: there is no hammer mode, the battery is a single 1.5Ah pack whose exact model is not named, and the weight and dimension claims do not establish bare-tool weight or tight-space operating clearance. Do not read the 1/2-in chuck as a hole-size rating. This is an assessment of manufacturer documentation; it does not claim personal use, ownership, testing, measured performance, price or current retail availability.
Sources: Makita XFD15SY1B product page; Makita XFD15ZB product page; Makita XFD15 instruction manual; Makita XFD15 English flyer; Makita 2021 sub-compact line announcement; Makita 2027 Reference Catalog, page 20.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Brushless motor | Yes |
|---|---|
| Maximum chuck capacity | 0.5 in |
| Maximum no-load speed | 1700 rpm |
| Battery platform | Makita 18V LXT |
| Exact package type | Single 1 5ah battery kit |
| Capacity per included battery | 1.5 Ah |
| Included charger model | DC18SD |
| Kit bag listed | Yes |
| Hammer-drilling mode | No |
| Documented operating modes | drilling / screwdriving with clutch |
| Battery included in this SKU | Yes |
| Charger included in this SKU | Yes |
| Included accessory | one tool bag |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Compare your requirements before choosing
Use the finder to keep the essential job, battery system and exact package separate. The match is a research filter, not proof of fit or a live retailer offer.
