Model assessment · Makita

Makita GPH01D 40V max XGT Brushless 1/2-in Hammer Driver-Drill Kit (2.5Ah, Earlier) review

Earlier discontinued XGT hammer-drill kit; the catalog suffix record specifies two 2.5Ah batteries, rapid charger and bag, while package battery and charger model numbers are not stated.

Sources checked 2026-10-30 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model: use this assessment to identify an existing product or check a specific offer. Match the exact suffix, instructions and seller terms.

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Makita teal-and-black GPH01D hammer driver-drill with side grip, XGT battery, second battery, rapid charger and bag in the official kit image.
Makita’s official GPH01D earlier kit image; catalog suffix evidence supplies package details. Makita manufacturer product image
A useful fit for

An earlier XGT hammer-drill kit for a buyer who values package-included batteries and can verify the exact contents and condition of an individual discontinued unit.

The main tradeoff

The exact package battery and charger model numbers are not stated in the suffix record; discontinued status, weight and material limits need particular scrutiny.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

What is included in GPH01D?

Makita’s official D-suffix catalog legend specifies two 2.5Ah batteries, rapid charger and tool bag; it does not name the exact pack or charger model in that legend.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does GPH01D support hammer drilling?

Yes. The GPH01 manual documents hammer drilling, with 13/16-in masonry capacity and hammer rates to 39,000 bpm; the maker figures are not independent measurements.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is the 7-1/8-in specification its tool-head length?

No. The manual labels 7-1/8 in overall length and does not state tool-head length; the shorter-head finder rule therefore remains unknown.

Explore this need in the finder →

GPH01D is Makita’s 40V max XGT brushless 1/2-in hammer driver-drill kit, but the exact U.S. page now marks this D suffix discontinued. The title calls it a 2.5Ah kit; the official XGT catalog identifies the D suffix as a two-battery package with rapid charger and tool bag. That evidence resolves the earlier kit configuration, not stock or the condition of any particular unit. Its tool-family manual supplies the working modes and limits. This is documentary analysis only, not a hands-on review.

Hammer mode and its limits

The GPH01 family supports drilling, screwdriving and hammer drilling. Makita lists two speed ranges, 0–650 and 0–2,600 rpm, and two hammer-rate ranges, 0–9,750 and 0–39,000 blows per minute. The company also claims up to 1,250 in-lb maximum torque and a digital clutch with 41 low-speed and 21 high-speed settings. Those figures are maker specifications, not measurements of this writer’s tool. The 1/2-in chuck is a bit-shank interface, not a 1/2-in hole promise.

The manual lists 13/16-in capacity for masonry and steel, plus different wood limits for an auger bit (2 in), self-feed bit (3 in) and hole saw (6 in). These bit-specific entries matter more than an unqualified wood number. A hammer driver-drill has percussion, but it is not an SDS rotary hammer and does not document a chipping function. Choose a tool and accessory suited to the material, hole size and work duration; the manual’s capacity table is not a general guarantee that every masonry task is appropriate. High-torque drill operation also deserves careful handling and compliance with the maker’s safety instructions.

Package, manual and power checks

The 2022 XGT catalog’s suffix legend describes D models as including two 2.5Ah batteries, a rapid charger and tool bag. The GPH01D exact page title independently calls this a 2.5Ah kit, and its discontinued page links the GPH01 manual. The catalog does not identify the pack model in the suffix line, so this assessment does not claim a precise included battery part number solely from that legend. The manual names BL4025 and BL4040 as compatible batteries and DC40RA as a compatible charger. That compatibility list should not be confused with the kit’s exact carton list. A side handle appears in the product photograph, but the checked package source does not list it in the D-suffix contents, so verify separately rather than counting it based on the image.

The manual reports 6.0–6.6 lb depending on battery and attachments and a 7-1/8-in overall length. Neither is bare-tool weight or tool-head length. The word “compact” and the overall measurement do not establish working clearance around a chuck, bit, hand or battery. If space is tight, measure the complete setup and confirm trigger/handle access.

Earlier kit compared with the tool-only sibling

GPH01D and GPH01Z are separate package choices around the GPH01 machine. The D version is the discontinued kit; the Z product page currently identifies a tool-only version and expressly excludes battery and charger. The included items described for D do not belong to Z. Conversely, choosing an earlier kit does not guarantee its packs remain healthy or that a used tool is complete. Check the exact suffix, all pack labels, charger, bag, condition, service status and seller’s return terms on any actual offer.

For a buyer needing documented hammer mode and starting XGT equipment, GPH01D’s written package is more complete than a bare tool on paper. The disadvantages are earlier/discontinued status, a relatively heavy system once powered, and limits and source-specific uncertainties that still require task checks. A current-reference page for GPH01Z is not evidence the older kit is available now. The GPH01 manual and exact package label remain the basis for any compatibility decision; no runtime, performance advantage or price conclusion follows from the published claims.

Sources: Makita GPH01D product page; Makita GPH01 instruction manual; Makita 2022 XGT catalog, page 17.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Brushless motorYes
Maximum chuck capacity0.5 in
Maximum no-load speed2600 rpm
Battery platformMakita XGT 40V max
Exact package typeBattery included xgt 2 5ah two battery kit earlier
Capacity per included battery2.5 Ah
Kit bag listedYes
Hammer-drilling modeYes
Documented operating modesdrilling / screwdriving / hammer drilling
Battery included in this SKUYes
Charger included in this SKUYes
Included accessoryone tool bag

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare your requirements before choosing

Use the finder to keep the essential job, battery system and exact package separate. The match is a research filter, not proof of fit or a live retailer offer.

In this review