Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What is included with GFD02D?
The official D-suffix catalog key describes two 2.5Ah packs, a rapid charger and tool bag; it does not name exact battery or charger models.
Explore this need in the finder →Does GFD02D have hammer mode?
No. The GFD02 manual documents drilling and screwdriving, not hammer drilling or a masonry capacity; do not treat XGT as a mode specification.
Explore this need in the finder →Does its 6-1/2-in overall length make it a six-inch head?
No. The manual gives an overall-length figure but no tool-head measurement, so the six-inch head condition is unresolved rather than satisfied.
Explore this need in the finder →Makita marks the exact GFD02D U.S. page discontinued and names GFD03SU1 as a replacement; that notice does not establish availability or condition for any particular seller’s unit. The 40V max XGT compact brushless 1/2-in driver-drill kit remains a separately observed earlier package. Makita’s product title identifies the 2.5Ah kit, and the official 2022 XGT catalog’s suffix key defines D models as including two 2.5Ah batteries, a rapid charger and tool bag. This is an evidence-based comparison of those sources, not a hands-on review.
Compact driver-drill, not a hammer drill
The GFD02 family has a 1/2-in chuck and a plain drill/driver operating plan. The GFD02 instruction manual lists steel capacity of 1/2 in, a 1-1/2-in wood auger and self-feed bit, and a 2-in hole saw. Those capacities vary with bit type; they should not be compressed into a universal “wood capacity” or treated as a guarantee for every material. The manual documents drilling and screwdriving but not a hammer mode, and its specification table does not state a masonry drilling capacity. A buyer who needs hammer action should not infer it from XGT membership or the word “drill.”
The manual specifies low and high speeds of 0–600 and 0–2,200 rpm. Makita’s 2022 catalog lists 0–550 and 0–2,200 rpm, so the low-speed figure is inconsistent across official sources; this review leaves the discrepancy visible rather than selecting the more attractive value. The same catalog claims a maximum torque of 585 in-lb. That is a maker statement, not a measured result. In contrast, the 6-1/2-in overall length and 4.2–5.5-lb attachment-and-battery-dependent weight range come from the GFD02 manual. Overall length is not tool-head length, and the weight range is not bare-tool weight.
What the D package evidence says
The 2022 official catalog groups GFD02D and GFD02Z as two package suffixes within the family, then states that a D suffix includes two 2.5Ah batteries, rapid charger and tool bag, while Z is a bare-tool package. The exact GFD02D page calls it a 2.5Ah kit and marks it discontinued. The catalog suffix legend does not name the exact battery or charger model, so the listing is not a basis for inventing BL4025 or DC40RA as exact box contents. The manual names BL4025/BL4040 batteries and DC40RA as compatible equipment, which is a compatibility statement rather than a package list. Check the labels and the actual contents of any older kit before deciding.
GFD02D’s official kit image visually shows the drill and XGT kit components, but an image cannot establish the exact count or make of every item; the catalog suffix legend is the written package bridge. Any remaining kit’s battery condition, completeness, repair history and seller return terms are unknown unless checked for that offer. Makita’s discontinuation notice is not proof that an individual unit is available.
Fit questions beyond the compact label
The 6-1/2-in overall measurement is close to the finder’s six-inch head boundary but does not satisfy it: the GFD02 manual does not state a tool-head length at all. “Compact” is not a dimensional substitute, and an overall tool length is not the same as the short head from chuck back to body. Even a known head length would not guarantee clearance for an installed bit, hand position, battery or approach angle.
GFD02D may be worth investigating only as an earlier XGT drill/driver kit when its exact package and condition can be verified. The central trade-offs are its discontinued status, a plain drill/driver without documented hammer mode, and unresolved low-speed disagreement. Its 1/2-in chuck accommodates the corresponding shank size but says nothing about the size of an appropriate hole. Use the GFD02 manual to choose material, bit and operation; compare a separate hammer-drill family if masonry percussion is essential. No runtime, measured speed, seller condition or price is claimed here.
Sources: Makita GFD02D product page; Makita GFD02 instruction manual; Makita 2022 XGT catalog, page 17.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Brushless motor | Yes |
|---|---|
| Maximum chuck capacity | 0.5 in |
| Maximum no-load speed | 2200 rpm |
| Battery platform | Makita XGT 40V max |
| Exact package type | Battery included xgt 2 5ah two battery kit earlier |
| Capacity per included battery | 2.5 Ah |
| Kit bag listed | Yes |
| Hammer-drilling mode | No |
| Documented operating modes | drilling / screwdriving |
| Battery included in this SKU | Yes |
| Charger included in this SKU | Yes |
| Included accessory | one tool bag |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Compare your requirements before choosing
Use the finder to keep the essential job, battery system and exact package separate. The match is a research filter, not proof of fit or a live retailer offer.
