Model assessment · Makita

Makita CT232 12V max CXT 2-Piece Drill/Impact-Driver Combo Kit (1.5Ah) review

The CT232 combines an FD09Z 3/8-in driver-drill and a separate DT03Z impact driver, with two 1.5Ah CXT batteries, DC10WD charger and contractor bag.

Sources checked 2026-10-30 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Makita CT232 CXT combo with 3/8-in driver-drill, 1/4-in impact driver, DC10WD charger and contractor bag.
Official CT232 combo image; the kit pairs a 3/8-in drill and impact driver with charger and bag. Makita manufacturer product image
A useful fit for

A two-machine CXT kit when you want both an ordinary 3/8-in chuck drill/driver and a separate impact driver, with batteries, charger and carrying bag listed.

The main tradeoff

This combo is not a hammer drill, and the 3/8-in chuck is below the finder’s 1/2-in threshold. The current page does not name the 1.5Ah battery model numbers.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the CT232 package include a battery?

Makita’s current CT232 page lists two 1.5Ah CXT batteries, one DC10WD charger and a contractor bag; the model numbers of the included packs are not named.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the CT232 support hammer drilling?

No hammer-drilling mode is documented in the linked FD09/FD10 manual. The tool is described for rotation drilling and screwdriving, so it does not satisfy an essential hammer-mode requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the CT232 accept a 1/2-in bit shank?

The drill half, FD09Z, has a 3/8-in chuck (0.375 in), below the 0.5-in threshold. The separate impact driver is not a drill chuck.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the CT232 meet the 6-in tool-head condition?

The FD09 drill is listed at 7 in overall, but its tool-head length is not stated. The combo’s second tool does not change that unknown.

Explore this need in the finder →

Makita's CT232 is a two-tool 12V max CXT combo kit built around the FD09Z 3/8-in driver-drill and DT03Z 1/4-in impact driver. The current exact U.S. page lists two 1.5Ah CXT batteries, a DC10WD charger and the 14-in contractor tool bag (831253-8). The kit's two machines serve different jobs: the FD09Z is the conventional chuck drill/driver; the DT03Z is a fastening-focused impact driver. The impact driver is not a second drill and should not be counted as a replacement hammer-drill mode.

Understand which half is the drill

The included FD09Z drill uses a 3/8-in keyless chuck. Its shared FD09/FD10 instruction manual documents two speeds, rotation drilling, screwdriving and a 21-position clutch. The published ranges are 0–450 and 0–1,700 rpm; Makita's maximum-torque figure is 250 in-lb. The manual separately lists 3/8-in steel and 13/16-in wood capacities, plus wood- and machine-screw limits. These are manufacturer specifications for the drill, not independent measurements or a guarantee that a particular bit will make a hole of that size in every material. The 3/8-in chuck dimension is a bit-shank limit, not a universal hole-size rating.

No hammer-drilling mode is documented for FD09. The DT03Z impact driver has its own separate speed, impact and torque figures in the CT232 flyer, but those apply to that impact-driver machine—not to the drill's drilling capacities. If masonry hammer action is essential, this combo does not meet that requirement on the evidence reviewed. Use the correct tool and accessory for the material and follow the corresponding manual; a two-piece kit label says nothing about a hammer mechanism.

Package contents—and a sibling that is easy to confuse

The CT232 product page names the FD09Z drill, DT03Z impact driver, DC10WD charger, 14-in bag and two 1.5Ah CXT packs. It does not identify the model number of those two batteries in the Includes list, so do not infer their suffix from a product photo or from a different CXT kit. The exact battery labels and charger instructions matter. The drill manual lists BL1016, BL1021B and BL1041B batteries and DC10SB, DC10WD and DC18RE chargers as applicable to the FD09/FD10 family; verify the combo's included pack model and charger against the actual documents and package.

CT232RX is a separate earlier combo SKU. Makita marks its page discontinued; its own flyer identifies the same FD09Z/DT03Z tool pairing but a 2.0Ah kit with two BL1021B packs, a DC10WD charger and a tool case. Those items do not transfer to current CT232. CT232's current product page lists two 1.5Ah batteries and a bag. Both packages are assessment subjects, but the discontinued marking on CT232RX does not establish whether any seller has it now. Check the exact suffix and included items if comparing a particular offer.

Compact dimensions still leave clearance unknown

The FD09 drill is listed at 7 in overall length and 2.4 lb with a battery in the shared manual and manufacturer literature. The sources do not provide the separate tool-head length used by the short-head filter, nor the FD09 bare-tool weight. Overall length should not be substituted for head reach. The kit also contains a second machine and bag, so a product-page drill dimension does not describe the footprint of the complete package. Keep the bit, hand position, approach angle and workpiece in mind when assessing a tight opening.

CT232 is a plausible comparison for someone who wants both a conventional small drill/driver and a separate impact driver with batteries, charger and carrying bag included in one listed package. It is less suitable if the need is a 1/2-in chuck, documented hammer mode, known drill-head clearance, a named included battery model or a particular CXT battery platform combination not verified by the actual pack labels. These conclusions come from Makita's pages, flyer and instructions; no hands-on testing, performance measurement, price or stock check is claimed.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Brushless motorNo
Maximum chuck capacity0.38 in
Maximum no-load speed1700 rpm
Screwdriving clutch settings21
Battery platformMakita 12V max CXT
Exact package typeTwo tool combo kit
Capacity per included battery1.5 Ah
Included charger modelDC10WD
Kit bag listedYes
Hammer-drilling modeNo
Documented operating modesdrilling / screwdriving / impact_driving
Battery included in this SKUYes
Charger included in this SKUYes
Included accessoryone FD09Z 3/8-in driver-drill / one DT03Z 1/4-in impact driver / two CXT 1.5Ah batteries (models not stated in Includes list) / DC10WD charger / 14-in Contractor Tool Bag (831253-8)

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare your requirements before choosing

Use the finder to keep the essential job, battery system and exact package separate. The match is a research filter, not proof of fit or a live retailer offer.

In this review