Model assessment · DEWALT

DEWALT ATOMIC 20V MAX Brushless 1/2-in Hammer Drill Kit (5Ah) review

A brushless DCD799 20V MAX hammer-drill kit whose DEWALT page lists one DCB205 5.0Ah battery, charger and belt hook; charger model and kit-bag inclusion are not specified there.

Sources checked 2026-10-28 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Yellow-and-black DEWALT DCD799 hammer drill with a large DCB205 battery and charger; no bag is shown.
DEWALT DCD799P1 image with DCB205 5.0Ah battery and charger; the page does not list a kit bag. DEWALT manufacturer product image
A useful fit for

A DCD799 kit to examine when the shopper wants documented hammer drilling plus an included DCB205 5.0Ah battery and charger, and prefers the listed package over buying the bare tool.

The main tradeoff

The DCD799P1 page does not identify the charger model or list a kit bag. It also shows differing UWO claims within the page, so the assessment does not turn them into a single comparable performance rating. A 5.0Ah label alone does not establish runtime.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

What is specifically included with the DCD799P1 kit?

DEWALT lists the DCD799 hammer drill, belt hook, one DCB205 battery and a charger. The page does not name the charger model or list a kit bag, so verify those details on the exact retail package instead of assuming another DCD799 kit’s contents.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the DCD799P1 have a manual-supported hammer-drill mode?

The shared DCD794/DCD799 manual lists hammer drilling for DCD799, along with regular drilling and screwdriving settings. Use the maker’s manual for bit and material restrictions; this feature alone does not establish a maximum hole size.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the included 5.0Ah label prove a specific runtime?

No. DCD799P1 includes a DCB205 5.0Ah battery according to DEWALT, but the sources reviewed do not establish runtime for a particular bit, material, technique or duty cycle. Treat capacity as package identification, not a promise of work completed.

Explore this need in the finder →

The included pack is the clearest reason to distinguish P1

DCD799P1 packages the DCD799 20V MAX brushless hammer drill with a DCB205 5.0Ah battery, a charger and a belt hook. DEWALT’s included-parts list does not name the charger model or a kit bag. That differs from the DCD799D1 and L1 pages, which name the DCB112 charger and list a bag; those pages also include DCB203 2.0Ah and DCB230 3.0Ah batteries, respectively. A package comparison should therefore start with the suffix and the actual parts needed, not assume the similar tool names mean the kits are interchangeable.

The 5.0Ah marking is a factual pack label, not an estimate of runtime or work completed. The source pages do not establish how long it will run for the user’s material, hole size, pressure, bit, temperature or pattern of use. If a compatible pack and charger are already available, the tool-only DCD799B is another configuration to assess; if not, P1 includes a battery and charger, but the exact charger identity should be confirmed with the seller because the DEWALT page does not specify it.

Documented modes are more useful than a headline

The shared Type 1 manual names DCD799 and lays out drilling, screwdriving from positions 1–15, and hammer drilling. It describes two speed settings and warns that speed selection should be changed only after the tool stops. The hammer mode is the functional difference from the DCD794 drill/driver, whose table lists ordinary drilling and screwdriving but not hammer drilling. If masonry work is planned, that distinction is meaningful; it is not proof of suitability for every concrete or masonry task, and the reviewed material does not supply a universal material-by-material hole limit.

The manual’s setup cautions also deserve attention. It calls for a firm grip and a workpiece that is secured or clamped, and explains that drilling with a jammed bit can create a sudden reaction. A clutch setting is intended for screwdriving, not a substitute for an operating limit in drilling mode. Follow the complete instructions for the bit and work rather than treating a mode label or claimed output as an operating guarantee.

Keep the conflicting UWO and length claims visible

DEWALT’s DCD799P1 page gives one UWO figure in its overview and another in its features: 552 UWO and 585 UWO. It also gives 6.5 inches as tool-head length only. The DCD799B, D1 and L1 pages use different figures or rounding for the same family, so this assessment does not collapse those statements into one normalized rating. The contradiction is itself a reason not to rank the family by a single output number.

The page’s 1/2-inch metal chuck, up to 1,650 rpm and up to 28,050 beats per minute are manufacturer statements, not independent measurements. Chuck capacity is about bit-shank fit and does not certify a hole diameter. The head-length number omits a bit, battery, hand position and entry angle. A tight-space buyer should check the actual setup with those clearances in mind, and a high-capacity pack should not be treated as proof of either a lighter or a longer-running system.

What to verify before choosing DCD799P1

This exact kit is a reasonable candidate to investigate when hammer drilling is a real requirement, a DEWALT 20V MAX package is wanted, and the listed DCB205 5.0Ah pack is preferred to the smaller pack in the other documented kits. It is a weaker choice if the buyer needs a confirmed charger model or a bag in the manufacturer-listed package; those details are not supported by the P1 page reviewed here. Check the seller’s current contents and the DCB205/charger compatibility guidance rather than relying on a stock image.

Compare DCD799D1 or L1 if their named battery and bag combinations better fit the desired kit. If no hammer mode is needed, compare an ordinary drill/driver instead. Before purchase, verify the DCD799P1 suffix, DCB205 inclusion, charger model, any case or bag and the exact retailer listing. Use the manual for the proper gear and mode, and check current safety notices. No sample was used or tested for this article; it makes no claim about real-world speed, runtime, weight, balance, heat, durability or customer experience.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Brushless motorYes
Maximum chuck capacity0.5 in
Maximum no-load speed1650 rpm
Screwdriving clutch settings15
Battery platformDEWALT 20V MAX
Exact package typeKit: one 5.0Ah battery and charger
Included battery modelDCB205
Capacity per included battery5 Ah
Hammer-drilling modeYes
Documented operating modesDrilling / Screwdriving / Hammer drilling
Battery included in this SKUYes
Charger included in this SKUYes
Included accessorybelt hook

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare your requirements before choosing

Use the finder to keep the essential job, battery system and exact package separate. The match is a research filter, not proof of fit or a live retailer offer.

In this review