Model assessment · DEWALT

DEWALT XTREME 12V MAX Brushless 3/8-in Hammer Drill Kit review

The exact DCD706F2 package includes the DCD706 hammer drill, two DCB122 12V MAX batteries, a charger, belt clip and tool bag. The page does not identify the charger model.

Sources checked 2026-10-28 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

DEWALT DCD706F2 kit showing a yellow-and-black DCD706 drill with one battery attached, a second battery, charger and yellow-and-black tool bag.
DEWALT DCD706F2 kit image with DCB122 packs, charger and bag; see the exact page for the full written list. DEWALT manufacturer product image
A useful fit for

The F2 kit combines documented DCD706 hammer-drilling, drilling and screwdriving modes with two named 12V MAX battery packs, a charger and a tool bag.

The main tradeoff

The package page omits the charger model and its written Includes list does not state battery capacity; the exact image labels a pack 2Ah. Capacity does not establish runtime, and the chuck is 3/8 in.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Which battery packs are listed in the DCD706F2 box?

The exact page lists two DCB122 12V MAX batteries. Its kit image displays a 2Ah pack label, but that does not establish runtime.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the F2 page identify the charger model?

No. It lists one 12V MAX–20V MAX charger without naming the charger SKU; check the exact seller package.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the F2 suffix indicate a different hammer-drill mode from DCD706B?

No change is documented. The F2 package contains the DCD706B drill; the package difference is two DCB122 packs, a charger, belt clip and tool bag.

Explore this need in the finder →

Research-based assessment · exact DEWALT US DCD706F2 kit page and DCD706 Type 10 instructions checked 28 October 2026

DCD706F2 is the battery-included kit version of DEWALT's compact 12V MAX 3/8-inch hammer drill. The drill itself is the DCD706 machine; the meaningful difference from DCD706B is the package around it, not an established change to the drill's motor or operating modes. This review analyzes manufacturer documentation only—no sample was used, tested or measured.

The F2 suffix changes the box, not the tool assessment

DEWALT's exact DCD706F2 page lists two DCB122 12V MAX batteries with state-of-charge indicators, one charger described as 12V MAX–20V MAX, a belt clip and a tool bag, along with the DCD706B hammer drill. It does not give a charger model number or battery capacity in amp-hours in its written includes list; the page's exact kit image visibly labels a pack “2Ah.” That visual supports the displayed pack rating, not a runtime estimate. The image shows the drill, packs, charger and bag; use the written list for the claimed count and confirm the seller's exact carton before ordering.

This kit may make more sense than DCD706B for someone entering DEWALT 12V MAX who needs batteries and a charger as well as the drill. A buyer who already owns compatible packs may prefer to compare the tool-only B package instead, but the page does not provide a price comparison and this review makes no savings claim. The charger is described by its supported voltage range rather than an exact model, so a buyer should verify the supplied charger identity and pack compatibility rather than assume a nearby kit's charger is included.

The documented operating choices

The manufacturer's feature list gives this brushless tool a 3/8-inch ratcheting chuck, two speeds, 15 screwdriving clutch positions and a foot-mounted LED. The manual lists speed ranges of 0–425 rpm and 0–1,500 rpm. It cautions not to change gears while the tool is running; its selector identifies the first gear as the higher-torque choice and the second as the lower-torque choice. The clutch positions are for screwdriving, not a measured torque scale for every material or fastener. For a specific task, choose the bit by its shank and job, then begin with a conservative clutch setting on scrap.

The DCD706's mode collar supports ordinary drilling, screwdriving positions 1–15 and hammer drilling. In the manual's table, hammer drilling is specifically marked for the DCD706. DEWALT instructs the operator to use carbide-tipped or masonry bits rated for percussion in hammer mode. Its guidance also says to anchor or clamp the workpiece and keep a firm two-handed hold because a jam can cause a sudden twist. In drill and hammer positions the clutch does not engage, so the user should expect a stall under overload rather than rely on the clutch to limit reaction. The manual warns that too much feed pressure can slow the work and increase heat.

The same manual includes maximum-recommended-capacity figures for metal drilling, flat boring in wood and hole saws: 1/4 inch, 3/4 inch and 3/4 inch in the low range; 1/8 inch, 1/2 inch and 5/8 inch in the high range. These are manufacturer instructions for the DCD701/DCD706 manual family, not tests made for this review. Its table does not specify a masonry-hole capacity, so the phrase “hammer drill” alone cannot answer whether a particular concrete bit and task are within the tool's limit.

Size, weight and an unresolved speed phrase

DEWALT states 6.6 inches front-to-back and 2.3 pounds for the tool only. The latter is not the weight of this complete kit in use: the page does not give a battery-attached weight, and the F2 box includes packs. Likewise, a body dimension alone cannot confirm clearance once the chuck, bit, pack, hand and access angle are included. Treat these as manufacturer reference measurements, not a fit test.

The product overview says 250 UWO and prints “25,500 rpm.” The first is an unverified manufacturer output claim. The second is left unresolved rather than repeated as a confirmed shaft speed: the model's manual specifies no-load rotational ranges up to 1,500 rpm, but the page does not explain the much larger number or define it as an impact rate. No test or conversion has been performed here.

Compare the right version for your system

DCD706F2 is not a 20V MAX kit. DEWALT's 12V MAX name refers to maximum initial voltage without a workload; the manual gives 10.8V nominal. If your existing batteries are in DEWALT's 20V MAX family, do not assume this 12V kit accepts them. Within this observed family, DCD706B contains the same named DCD706 drill but no battery or charger; DCD706F2 adds two DCB122 packs, the broadly described charger, belt clip and bag. In the wider category, DCD794B is a 20V drill/driver without a documented hammer mode, while DCD799 is a larger-chuck 20V hammer-drill family. Pick by compatible battery platform, required mode, bit-shank capacity and exact box contents—not by a similar yellow-and-black image.

Who the kit may suit

This package is worth considering if a compact 12V drill with a documented hammer-drilling mode matches your task, you want two named batteries in the box, and a soft tool bag is useful. It is a poor match if you need a half-inch chuck, a confirmed charger SKU, an included hard case, a particular battery capacity, known runtime, or a manufacturer-stated masonry-hole capacity. The manual's capacity table does not provide that masonry limit. The US safety-notice index checked on 28 October 2026 contained no DCD706 entry, but that is only a dated index observation, not proof that no notice exists or will arise.

Before ordering, check that the offer says DCD706F2; verify both DCB122 packs, the 12V MAX–20V MAX charger, belt clip and bag against the exact package list; and read the supplied manual for bit choice, operating mode, compatible packs and safe handling.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Brushless motorYes
Maximum chuck capacity0.38 in
Maximum no-load speed1500 rpm
Manufacturer-stated front-to-back length6.6 in
Manufacturer-stated tool-only weight2.3 lb
Manufacturer-stated output rating250 UWO
Screwdriving clutch settings15
Battery platformDEWALT 12V MAX
Exact package typeKit: two DCB122 2.0Ah batteries, charger and bag
Included battery modelDCB122
Capacity per included battery2 Ah
Kit bag listedYes
Hammer-drilling modeYes
Documented operating modesDrilling / Screwdriving / Hammer drilling
Battery included in this SKUYes
Charger included in this SKUYes
Included accessorybelt clip / tool bag

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare your requirements before choosing

Use the finder to keep the essential job, battery system and exact package separate. The match is a research filter, not proof of fit or a live retailer offer.

In this review